Known to local residents as the McLellans Building, this store was constructed in 1952. With its clipped corner, it was similar to the Leitch-Stubbs Building which it replaced. The former building housed Dublin’s first chartered bank, The Laurens Banking Company.
Today, it houses one of Citi Trends' busiest locations.
As Dublin's first motion picture house, this site was known as The Theatorium. Later, it became the Crystal Theatre. Constructed in the mid 1890's by Dr. & Mrs. R.H. Hightower, the buildings have been remodeled, but retain their distinctive facades. It is thought that a prior building on this site was the only one to survive the disastrous fire of 1885 which leveled Downtown Dublin. Today, Deano’s Italian serves wood-fire pizzas, fresh pastas, seafood, and burgers with an Italian flair. Named Georgia’s best pizza by USA Today and a “Top Ten Pizza Hot Spot” by Cooking with Paula Deen, Deano’s Italian is a nationally acclaimed dining destination in Downtown Dublin.
Benson’s and Williamson’s bakeries satisfied many a sweet tooth for nearly fifty years at this location which now provides professional offices. The building was later remodeled to include the distinctive balcony. To taste Williamson's iconic donuts, head outside downtown to 1634 Veterans Boulevard, where the Williamson family is still baking up Dublin's best donuts daily.
Once a landmark in southern “down-home” cuisine, Fannie Bell “Ma” Hawkins opened a restaurant here in the early 1940s. Her family continued the traditional menu of daily specials for over half a century until the restaurant closed in the early 2000s. Today, return to your childhood with a broad variety of comics, action figures, and more.
H. E. “Count” Kreutz, a colorful German merchant, established his mercantile business in this Italianate building. He drew the ire of other local merchants by extending his awning and thus his business to the edge of the street. Architectural features such as the heavy roofline, cornice and brackets, and the “eyebrows” of the upper windows punctuate Kreutz’s influence on Downtown Dublin. Have an idea? Bring it and carry on Kreutz’s penchant for style in the lower floor. The upper floor is downtown lofts.
Founded in 1915, Smith’s Exclusive Jewelers has offered fine jewelry, elegant tableware, and classic elegance in the heart of Downtown Dublin for over 100 years. From the original cash register, safe, and architectural details, visitors will delight in the history owner Natalie Curry has preserved during her 2015 renovation of the shop.
Once the longtime home of Oatts Drug Company, Mint Boutique now brings modern life to this corner offering the latest fashions, accessories and footwear. Where once a soda fountain and pharmacy stood, Mint brought new flavor in February, 2017 with a renovation of the space, gracing downtown (and wardrobes) with fresh style.
Owned by the Lassiter family for nearly 100 years, this corner once featured the popular Green Leaf Café. The Citizens & Southern Bank expanded into this building from next door, and it is now home to the Bank of Dudley. In December of 2017, Bank of Dudley masterfully renovated this building and the Stephens Building, solidifying this downtown corner.
With its curved upstairs walls and intact built-in details, the Stephens Building was built by W. F. Schaufele in 1897 and rebuilt in 1912 following a fire. The Rose Theater was located here in the early 1930s. In 1945, R. L. and Louanna L. Stephens crafted this building into the most elegant ladies' clothing store in Dublin. It features a spiral staircase with a twenty foot high mirror on the landing, used to showcase and model dresses. In 2015, Bank of Dudley expanded into the Stephens Building, preserving the spiral staircase and renovating the facade of both buildings.
212 West Jackson Street, Dublin, GA 31021
When these buildings burned, one of Downtown Dublin Development Authority's first public projects was the addition of this square. The buildings were demoed and in their place, DDA crafted a public space complete with planters and seating. Today, Jackson Plaza offers a collection of professional spaces.
While not yet a historic structure, Morris Bank made a major investment in the future of downtown Dublin when it constructed its new headquarters on the site of an old parking lot. The building features impressive Craftsman style architecture which was based on Dublin’s original train depot, which burned in the 1990s. Morris Bank dedicated a portion of its property as Founder’s Park, a relaxing green space in the center of town, open to the public.
Dublin's first book shop, this building was home to an upholstery shop until owner Tiffany Wyatt swept in to restore it, renew it, and revive it as downtown's Aveda salon. With a focus on whole health, Southern Charm offers yoga, massages, and facials with a side of southern charm and genuine care.
C.W. Brantley constructed this fine three-story building in 1904 to house the Oconee Pharmacy, The Lyric Theatre, a gymnasium, a business school, and buggy shops. Later, it housed the hardware and farm implement store of Herschel Lovett and Henry Tharpe. The southeast corner of the third floor served as the Masonic Lodge and the pressed metal ceiling in the lodge hall still depicts Masonic emblems. Although the exterior cornice has been removed, the pillars with their Ionic capitals still beautify the building. The railings at the retail entrance contain Dublin’s first automatic door openers. Today, the building is home to The Exchange, a vibrant lifestyle boutique bursting with unique repurposed furnishings, clothing, décor, and accessories. Venture upstairs where The Loft Salon crafts beauty with modern cuts, color, and beauty services.
117 W. Jackson Street, Dublin, GA 31021
Lofts at Kingfisher Building
This renovation, began in 2015, uncovers more of Downtown Dublin's historic beauty. With this renovation, the Kingfisher will offer retail downstairs with residential on the upper floor, and is set to change the face and liven the pace downtown.
Built in 1898, this store housed professional offices, mercantiles, and grocers. In 1926, it became Dublin's J.C. Penney. The facade was covered with a curtain wall during the 60's, hiding the architectural beauty of the Corker Building. In March 2016, the facade was removed with plans to restore it to its former glory. In 2019, the revival of the Corker Building was unveiled, and it now is the stunning home of Curry Maffett Insurance. In April, 2020, it received Georgia Trust's Chairman’s Award, presented by the chairman of The Georgia Trust to a person or project of great preservation significance. The building also received an award for Excellence in Rehabilitation.
Once a collection of small shops stood here until the 60's when a new structure was built. Operated as a gymnastics studio until the mid 2000's, the building was removed to make way for a pedestrian-friendly green space connecting to new parking spaces for the north side of Jackson Street. The plaza includes a new green space featuring a meandering water feature, lush vegetation, patios, and swings opening up to Downtown Dublin's eateries and professional spaces. This public project spurred the restoration of The Henry, Kingfisher, and The Corker Buildings, reviving an entire city block.
Originally constructed before 1895, the Weischelbaum Building was the home of Sam Weischelbaum Company. Remodeled in 1901, the new design by architect George C. Thompson called for the building to be 50' x 110' and 20' feet higher than the original building. The front was crafted of cream brick, trimmed with granite, speckled brick, and terra cotta with the new store selling "gentlemen's furnishings" and clothing and groceries at the rear. By 1906, the remodel was almost complete and the owners, Napoleon Bonaparte Baum, Leo P. Baum, and F. Junius Schiff filed for incorporation. The store was deemed Dublin's second largest mercantile, second to Four Seasons. In 1913, a 500 gallon gasoline tank was installed in front. Sadly, a few months later, the company was forced into involuntary bankruptcy. The building remained in the Baum family for decades and leased to other stores. In the 1930's, Woolworth's opened until moving to the Dublin Mall in 1971.
The building served as Top Dollar, Deese Appliance, a restaurant, and an ice cream shop before local restauranteurs Richard and Colby Mascaro reimagined the space as one of Downtown Dublin's hottest eateries, Company Supply. Preserving the building's original architectural details and repurposing fixtures like the old elevator components into decor and furnishings, the Mascaros set to work refining the menu. Today, Company Supply fires up traditionally Southern flavors like gumbo, chicken and waffles, and rotisserie chicken with modern, Louisiana style. Check out their full oyster bar and live music every weekend for that creole flair!
This magnificent Queen Anne style building prominently features granite arched windows and doors, a turret (originally capped with a conical roof), and cornice. R. C. Henry, a riverboat captain when the Oconee River was still navigable, started Dublin’s first bank, the Dublin Banking Company, here in 1897. A variety of other businesses including Pierce & Orr Grocery, Churchwell’s, Bell Telephone, and in the 1950s, Belk Department Store called this building home, while the upstairs was used for professional offices. In 2019, Curry Companies completely renovated this corner, restoring The Henry to all its former glory including the installation of its trademark turret. You can call a piece of The Henry home, by renting one of its cowork spaces.