One of Dublin’s oldest grocery warehouses, this building was built around the turn of the century and overlooked the M. D. & S. and the W. & T. Railroad Depots, both now razed. Notice the arched openings along the tracks for ease of unloading shipments. In 2018, the building partially collapsed, and a determined Downtown Development Authority jumped into action. They used financing options to secure a tenant to save and restore the building. Gernot Schaaf revitalized the structure and transformed it into Established Furniture Company, makers determined to craft pieces that families will cherish for generations.
204 S. Jefferson Street, Dublin, GA 31021
Diamond in the rough
Dr. C. H. Kitrell, one of the most public-spirited citizens in Dublin’s history, built his jewelry and optometry store here in 1913. It features an unique arched storefront with a patterned, pressed metal interior. Built as a single story with a mezzanine at the rear, the store has one of the most ornate interiors in Downtown Dublin, with a skylight, cast iron columns, and a coffered, pressed metal ceiling.
In 1912, A. Ten Eyck Brown of Atlanta was selected as the architect for the First National Bank building. Brown designed many notable buildings in the South, including the Fulton County Courthouse, the Clarke County Courthouse, the Georgian Hotel of Athens, and the 28-story Miami-Dade County Courthouse. The foundation was laid on October 12, 1912, and construction was completed only six months later, in April 1913. The building featured a marble front on the first floor with the remaining facade of terra cotta, cast stone, and brick. The building’s overall structure is primarily stone, concrete, and steel, making it virtually fireproof. Most impressive were the marble floors and walls of the main banking room. In the lobby was Dublin's first elevator. Ornamental plaster patterns and elaborate bronze teller screens were Brown's finishing touches to Dublin's skyscraper. A bronze and glass mail chute ran from the top floor down to the lobby. Above the bank were sixty- four office spaces equipped with the modern conveniences of lighting and heating.
The First National Bank was Dublin’s largest bank until its failure in 1928. The Citizens and Southern Bank and later, the Morris State Bank were located here. Eventually, the building was reduced to use as a pawn shop operating on the first floor only until the building was finally shuttered in the 1980s. Following an award-winning historic renovation of the building by Garbutt Construction, First National Bank building is now Georgia Military College's Dublin Campus and Landmark Cafe & Market.
Take your business to new heights with available professional space in Dublin's skyscraper: Available property
City National Bank
109 S. Jefferson Street, Dublin, GA 31021
Law Office of Charles C. Butler
E. P. Rentz built Dublin’s fourth bank located here in 1903. Since that time, this building has housed at least three other banks until the Green & Tribble Law Firm beautifully restored the building, including its lovely stained glass windows and marble façade. Today, it serves as professional space.
Built in the 1890s and later remodeled, this building housed Lanier’s Store and later, Dublin’s premier department store, The Four Seasons. The Masons held their lodge meetings on the second floor of the southern end of the building. Renovated in 1981, this building houses The Courier-Herald newspaper, which celebrated its 100th anniversary as a daily newspaper in 2013.
Four Seasons Building
124-126 S. Jefferson Street, Dublin, GA 31021
The Troup House, Dublin’s main hotel from 1835-1895, occupied this site before the Four Seasons Building’s completion in 1910 by Dan W. Burch. Originally three stories, a fire destroyed the upper floors of the building. The Four Seasons was the largest store in the area with an inventory of $30,000 in shoes alone. For a time, the third floor served as an armory and the second as a dance hall.
In 2017, local developer, Billy Nash undertook the revitalization of three storefronts on Jefferson. Today, the space has been reinvigorated with the ultimate in landlocked seafood specialities, crafted cocktails, and rooftop bar & grill.
Dunn's in the 1960's
"For Young Moderns"
The facades were covered in the 1960's when the buildings were home to Dunn's, a family department store.
In March of 2018, workers uncovered the original brick facades with the painted signs in remarkably good condition.
Built about 1895, this building housed the dry goods and clothing business of H. V. Westbrook and his son-in-law, Brawner Smoot, for over 75 years. High ceilings, an operable skylight, and transom windows made the most of limited energy sources. In more recent times, this space has served as a law office and sandwich shop. It's currently serving as increased kitchen space & retail opportunity for Saltwater Fishery.
Laurens County Courthouse
101 N. Jefferson Street, Dublin, GA 31021
This courthouse, built in 1964 with federal incentive funds, replaced the brick, Romanesque courthouse of 1895. This is the fourth courthouse on this site. Originally, the “courthouse square” was a large, rectangular park, shaded by trees and surrounded by a hedge. The loss of the historic courthouse, along with many other beautiful but aging Downtown structures in the 1960s and 1970s, eventually inspired a new generation to protect and preserve the architectural and historic legacy of Downtown’s remaining buildings. Today, Dublin honors her WWI, WWII, and military veterans on the courthouse square.
Once a hardware store, then a furniture and mattress store, this building has transformed into a place where dreams of custom pizza, salad, and sandwiches come true with your choice of toppings, crust, and seasonings. Completely renovated, it opens onto beautiful views of Jackson Plaza.
This tiny historic storefront has served up big taste in Downtown Dublin for as long as many can remember. Family owned and operated since 1954, Jack's Hamburgers serves up smiles with every sackful of steaming goodness.