Dublin’s oldest wooden church and oldest public structure still used for its original purpose, stands as a monument to the early Episcopalians who worked hard to establish a church here. Organized as a congregation in 1895, church members completed the cruciform shaped building in 1899. The bell tower contains the bell from the Laurens County Courthouse of 1895.
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Carnegie Library was constructed in 1904 with a $10,000 grant from philanthropist Andrew Carnegie. It served as a library until 1964. Albert Geeslin, John Ross, and other community leaders led the effort to save the building from demolition by forming the Laurens County Historical Society and reimagining the library as a museum in 1977. Classically inspired architectural features include Ionic columns, dentils, and quoins. Today, Dublin Carnegie serves as a seasonal art gallery and special event venue.
Once known as the Martin Theatre, Theatre Dublin was built in 1934 as the result of a feud between rival theatre owners on the next city block. Designed for motion pictures, this Art Deco-influenced building was part of R.E. Martin’s chain of theaters. The Martin was the center of entertainment in Dublin until the late 1970’s. Now fully restored, Theatre Dublin operates as a successful performing arts center where the marquee’s neon shamrocks once again glow.
Located in historic Theatre Dublin, Martin Movie House has come back to life in a huge way. Boasting the largest retractable movie screen in Georgia, along with a 15-speaker motion-driven digital surround sound system each of the 620 seats will experience the highest quality visual and sound.
Built in 1934, The Martin operated as a movie house. Sadly, as the 1970’s neared end, the retro movie theatre began to slowly fall to disarray. In the 1990’s, a group of businessmen and an enthusiastic community came together to save the historic theatre from demolition with a complete renovation in 1996.
Constructed in 2012 as part of a public/private partnership to commemorate Dublin's 200th birthday, Bicentennial Plaza features some of Downtown Dublin's most beautiful views. The marble fountain at its center is the perfect place to take a selfie using #DublinGA.
Named for the project chairman who died during construction, the Fred Roberts Hotel was built under the sponsorship of the Chamber of Commerce in 1926. As Dublin’s largest hotel, the Fred Roberts hosted the World Champion St. Louis Cardinals after a local exhibition game on April 2, 1935. An early example of Art Deco architecture, mixed with eclectic European and Egyptian influences, the Fred Roberts was designed by architect C.W. Shieverton. The building plan features two towers flanking a recessed central tower with a second-floor balcony, as well as narrow vertical pilasters separating rows of windows. The monolithic red brick façade, built by local master brick masons using local clays, is punctuated by geometric brick patterns, Tudor arches, two stone renderings of Egyptian sarcophagi, English shields, and numerous mummy mask motifs.
Art Deco style
With its fine construction, the Fred Roberts represents one of Georgia’s earliest examples of Art Deco architecture. Today, the Fred Roberts mixes historic beauty and vibrant modern uses as professional and residential space, as well as dining and retail spaces. Tour The Fred Monday-Friday, from 9 AM - 5 PM.