This congregation was organized in 1867, and Captain Hardy Smith donated the land for the church. First built in 1894, the sanctuary has been remodeled many times. One of the two largest churches in Dublin, twisted rope bricks surround the sanctuary windows. Subtle changes in the bricks and mortar identify later additions to the structure.
Situated behind First United Methodist Church, this cemetery may date to 1811. A Revolutionary War soldier, Thomas McCall, is buried here along with many Confederate veterans and a Daughter of the American Revolution. Cast iron fences and brick walls separate family plots. The cemetery has many interesting tomb stones, including a metal obelisk in the southwest corner, lambs (usually for children), romantically inspired stones with weeping willows or draped fabrics, and tree trunks. symbolic of people cut down in the prime of their lives.
Captain Smith Hardy House
307 W. Gaines Street, Dublin, GA 31021
Dublin’s second oldest existing home was built just after the Civil War by Captain Hardy Smith. A local commander of Confederate soldiers and a long time Clerk of the Superior Court, Smith situated his home in a grove of grand magnolias surrounded by fragrant, old-fashioned shrubbery of wisteria, roses, tea olives, and azaleas. The wooden house sits on piers of local river rock, and the kitchen was built as a separate structure to the rear to minimize the danger of fire and to keep the house cooler. Board-and-batten wood siding, fiddle shaped porch railings, and saw-toothed barge boards at the eaves are the Carpenter Gothic style of architecture. The two-story wooden house, a perfect example of Gothic rural-style architecture, is being carefully restored by owner, John C. Hall. The Captain Smith Hardy House features a two-sided embossed historical marker sponsored by the Georgia Civil War Commission. The western face of the marker, which features a likeness of Captain Smith, tells the biographical story of Laurens County's most public spirited citizens of the post-Civil War era. The eastern face, which features a bust of Captain Smith, details the history of the home.