Dublin City Hall
100 South Church Street, Dublin, Georgia 31021
Built in 1902 as the Dublin Academy at a cost of $25,000, this former school originally contained a large auditorium and fourteen classrooms. The City of Dublin converted it into City Hall and added the marble and large white columns in 1959.
100 South Drive, Dublin, GA 31021
A beautiful donation
Built in 1909 through a bond election (an earlier version of SPLOST), Stubbs Park is located at the heart of the Dublin community. Designed by famed horticulturist Prosper Julius Berckmans of Augusta, whose gardens later became the Augusta National Golf Club, the original design of Stubbs had a lake and many fountains. Berckmans and Col. John M. Stubbs of Dublin served together on the board of the Georgia Horticulture Society, and began designing the gardens surrounding Col. Stubbs home. Stubbs planned to leave a portion of these lands to the City of Dublin upon his death. On October 10, 1908, Stubbs’ family donated the land between North Church and North Calhoun Streets to the City and P. J. Berkman’s son, Robert set to work using his father’s original designs of the garden. The ten acre public park was completed in May, 1909. Stubbs Park has grown with the times.
In the 1930’s, families embraced Stubbs Park, and began constructing homes on the hills surrounding the park and today, these houses are some of Dublin’s finest examples of Craftsman and Cape Cod architecture. In 1956, the Dublin Civitan Club installed one of Georgia’s first desegregated public swimming pools, and until the early 2000’s, Stubbs hosted the Dublin St. Patrick’s Arts and Crafts Festival. Today, there is a revived effort to expand and preserve Stubbs Park with the City of Dublin, Friends of Stubbs Park, Visit Dublin GA, and Laurens County are working to reconnect the two parcels of land and return the park to its historic roots as a gathering place for the community.
Old Catholic Church
204 N. Church Street, Dublin, GA 31021
Peace be with you
The Catholic Church of the Immaculate Conception was built in 1911 by John A. Kelley and features a Flemish bond pattern in the bricks with the mortar colored to match. The congregation recently moved to a new facility, having outgrown the space available in this historic structure. First Baptist Church purchased the property with plans to continue use as a place of worship.